Stars of local sport celebrated in the 23rd Annual Wests Sports Council Awards

Posted at 25 Oct 2023

Wests Group Macarthur was delighted to host the Wests Sports Council 23rd Annual Sports Awards at a presentation night on Monday 23rd October, with each winner recognised for their phenomenal contributions to grassroots sport, sporting achievements, and sporting spirit.


The Wests Sports Council supports 30 sporting clubs and associations within the Macarthur region and provides clubs a way to recognise individual and teams’ achievements, commitment, and contribution to local sport. The Council is an integral part of Wests Group Macarthur’s commitment to sport in the region and aims; “to create simple pathways for community access to affordable and well-administered sporting opportunities provided by a network of sporting clubs and associations”.


An independent voting panel judged the winners from numerous seasonal nominations across various categories, highlighting stories of great skill, achievement, and sportsmanship. The Wests Sports Council was pleased to welcome the finalists at Monday night’s presentation, with both runner-up and winner celebrated by an audience of over 130 attendees.


Martin Bullock, Wests Group Macarthur Sports Secretary says, “Once again another fantastic display of talent, sportsmanship and effort from around our sporting community. We really take great pride in recognising and rewarding these achievements and appreciate the effort from all the clubs to supply fantastic nominations from their respective clubs”. 


We are pleased to announce the following winners and runners up;


WINNER Elite Sports Person of the Year 


Tegan Bertolissio, aged 17, was named Wests Sports Elite Sports Person of the Year, nominated by
Macarthur Football Association for her passion, drive and extraordinary talent.


Following a standout 2022 season in the NSW Women’s National Premier League (NPL), Tegan was selected in the Junior Matildas (national) team and was an integral part of the squad that won the AFF U18 Asian Cup in 2022.


Earlier this year, Tegan was selected in the Young Matildas (Australia’s U20) squad that travelled to the Kyrgyz Republic in March for the first round of the 2024 AFC U-20 Women’s Asian Cup Qualifiers. The team won both matches to progress through to Round 2, with Tegan playing a role in the sides 7-0 victory over the Kyrgyz Republic.


Tegan has played 29 First Grade games for the Macarthur Rams this season, with the team finishing the regular season of the NSW WNPL in second place and are in the hunt for a second consecutive championship trophy.


Tegan’s stella form has seen her earn her first professional contract, joining A-League club Canberra United for the 2023/24 season.


Tegan couldn’t be at the event in person due to her Canberra commitments, with the award accepted by her father Paul Bertollissio.


WINNER Elite Sports Team of the Year 


The talented Macarthur Rams Macarthur Rams Football Club U13s side is coached by former Socceroo and Macarthur legend Brett Emerton. The team took out the premiership in the Football NSW National Premier Leagues (NPL) Youth League 3 Competition this season, dropping only one game along the way to finish with 81 out of 83 points. Finishing well clear of the Dunbar Rovers in second spot on 64 points.


This team also features the leading goal scorer in any age group throughout the Football NSW NPL competition in 2023 with Isaiah Nakasenh scoring an amazing 59 goals this year.


Further detail about our category winners can be found here.


WINNER Junior Sportsperson of the Year (U12) – Lewis Eddie, Wests Hockey Club

Runner Up: Junior Sportsperson of the Year (U12) – Jade Williams, Macarthur BMX


WINNER Youth Sportsperson of the Year (12 – 16yrs) – Jack Jones, Eschol Park Little Athletics

Runner Up: Youth Sportsperson of the Year (12 – 16yrs)- Asher Alex, Magpies Cricket Club


WINNER Senior Sportsperson of the Year – Aaron Waters, Tennis Macarthur

Runner Up: Senior Sportsperson of the Year – Karen Lake, Macarthur Triathlon Club


WINNER Sports Club Team of the Year – Senior Women’s Team, Camden Cats Senior AFL Club, 

Runner Up: Sports Club Team of the Year – Division 1 Ballers, Campbelltown Ghosts Club Senior Baseball


WINNER Spirit of Sport – Darren Hooton, Mount Annan Swimming Club

Runner Up: Spirit of Sport- Mark Hamilton, Tennis Macarthur


In addition to the sports awards program, Wests Group Macarthur also provides a substantial amount of funding each year towards the ongoing success of each member club and association.